International Association of Hydrological Sciences (IAHS)

At the First IUGG General Assembly (Rome, 1922), the Section d’Hydrologie Scientifique became one of the constituent sections of the Union. At the IV IUGG General Assembly (Stockholm, 1930) it became the International Association of Scientific Hydrology. It took its present name at the XV IUGG General Assembly (Moscow, 1971).

IAHS promotes the study of all aspects of hydrology through discussion, comparison, and publication of research results and through the initiation of research that requires international cooperation. IAHS Press publishes the monthly Hydrological Sciences Journal, the Red Book Series that includes proceedings of between eight and 12 symposia per year, and other more specialised publications. IAHS maintains strong connections with the International Hydrological Programme of UNESCO and with the Hydrology and Water Resources Programme of the World Meteorological Organisation (WMO).

International Commissions:

These Comissions initiate and conduct conferences, symposia, workshops, courses, and research programmes.

  • Division I: Internal Magnetic Fields
  • International Commission on Continental Erosion (ICCE)
  • International Commission on the Coupled Land-Atmosphere System (ICCLAS)
  • International Commission on Groundwater (ICGW)
  • International Commission on Remote Sensing (ICRS)
  • International Commission on Snow and Ice Hydrology (ICSIH)
  • International Commission on Statistical Hydrology (ICSH)
  • International Commission on Surface Water (ICSW)
  • International Commission on Tracers (ICT)
  • International Commission on Water Quality (ICWQ)
  • International Commission on Water Resources Systems (ICWRS)


Jean-Marie KILESHYE ONEMA, IAHS Secretary General
University of Lubumbashi, WaterNet
PO Box MP600
Mount Pleasant

IAHS website: