

John P. Burrows

Institute of Environmental Physics, Institute of Remote, University of Bremen, Fellow of Natural Environment Research Council: Centre for Ecology and Hydrology, United Kingdom

Professor John P. Burrows was educated at Trinity College Cambridge University, UK. After post-doctoral research at the Harvard Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, he became a staff member at the A.E.R.E. Harwell and a research scientist at the Physical Chemistry Laboratory, University of Oxford. In 1982 he joined the Max Planck Institute for Chemistry in Mainz. Since 1992 he has been Professor of Physics of the Ocean and Atmosphere at the University of Bremen, founding the Institute of Environmental Physics in 1993. He was seconded from 2008 to 2010 to be Science Director Biogeochemistry at the Natural Environment Research Council: Centre for Ecology and Hydrology, NERC: CEH, becoming a fellow of NERC:CEH in 2010.

His research began in the laboratory with studies of the kinetics and spectroscopy of atmospheric constituents and subsequently moved into field measurements of atmospheric constituents. He is best known for pioneering the remote sensing of atmospheric trace gases and constituents from space. He has published approximately 550 peer reviewed articles in the areas of photochemistry, kinetics, remote sensing, earth observation, atmospheric chemistry and physics, biogeochemistry, pollution and climate change. ISI Web of Knowledge and Google Scholar searches find 15700 and 24945 citation, yielding h index of 59 and 75 respectively. His research has been recognised internationally, he is an AGU and AAS fellow. COSPAR William Nordberg Medal 2006. NASA Group Achievement Award for outstanding achievements in the Intercontinental Chemical Transport Experiment conducted in the United States and Mexico. 10th May 2007; Member of the International Academy of Aeronautics (IAA) September 2008; Guest member of high table at Christ Church Oxford 2008 to 2010; the Journal of Quantitative Spectroscopy and Radiative Transfer selected Burrows et al 1999 manuscript to be one of 17 JSQRT Milestone Papers on its 50th anniversary; Haagen-Smit Prize 2012, presented by Atmospheric Environment in recognition of outstanding 1991 contribution "The Nitrate radical: Physics, Chemistry and the Atmosphere". He was awarded the Vilhelm Bjerknes Medal by the European Geosciences Union 2013.

He has served the international and national research community in the following capacities: member of the SSC of IGAC (International Global Atmospheric Chemistry) Core Project of the IGBP (International Geosphere Biosphere Project) 2002 – 2008; member of ICACGP (International Commission on Atmospheric Chemistry and Global Pollution) of IAMAS (International Association of Meteorology and Atmospheric Sciences) 2002 - 2006; Officer and Secretary of ICACGP 2006 – 2010; President of ICACGP 2010-2018; member of the SSG of SPARC (Stratospheric Processes and their Role in Climate) a project of the WCRP (World Climate Research Programme) - WMO (World Meteorological organisation) - 2003 – 2011; COSPAR SPARC Liaison 2012- present; member of COSPAR Commission A – 1998 vice chair 2000 – 2008, Member of national COSPAR Committee 2010 – present; member of Environmental Section of the European Physical Society – 2003 to present.