## INTERNATIONAL UNION OF GEODESY AND GEOPHYSICS UNION GEODESIQUE ET GEOPHYSIQUE INTERNATIONALE

## **IUGG Elected Fellows 2023**

(13 January 2023)

"Fellowship of the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics is a tribute, awarded by the IUGG Bureau, to individuals who have made exceptional contributions to international cooperation in geodesy or geophysics and attained eminence in the field of Earth and space sciences" (IUGG By-Law 22).

On behalf of the IUGG Fellow Selection Committee, the IUGG Bureau is proud to announce the elected Union Fellows:

**Antonio J. Busalacchi** (Oceanography/Climatology, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research, USA) for seminal contributions to tropical oceanography and climate dynamics/prediction research and impactful leadership in national and international Earth and space sciences programsitoring.

Toshiyuki Hibiya (Oceanography/Climatology, The University of Tokyo, Japan)

for being a global leader in the production of ocean turbulence by the internal tide and the parameterization of mixing in ocean and climate models.

**Paolo Papale** (Volcanology, National Institute of Geophysics and Volcanology – Pisa, Italy) for ground-breaking and highly considered research in geochemical modelling, volcanology and volcanic risk assessment, with significant societal impact.

Makoto Taniguchi (Hydrology, Research Institute for Humanity and Nature, Japan)

for outstanding international contributions to environmental geosciences, especially groundwater hydrology, strongly linking with global climate and environmental changes.

**Peter Teunissen** (Geodesy, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands)

for exceptional contributions and international leadership in the Geodetic Sciences, Satellite Positioning, and Navigation.

The IUGG Elected Fellows 2023 will be presented during the Closing Ceremony of the <u>IUGG General</u> Assembly 2023 in Berlin, Germany.

## **International Jury**

The Fellow Selection Committee (2023) was chaired by Andrew Yau (Canada; IAGA). The Members of the Committee were Agatha de Boer (Sweden; IAPSO), Georg Kaser (Austria; IACS), Allison Kealy (Australia; IAG), Barbara Romanowicz (USA/France; IASPEI), Dan Rosbjerg (Denmark; IAHS), Mary Scholes (South Africa; IAMAS), Roberto Sulpizio (Italy; IAVCEI), and Steve McNutt (USA; IUGG).