Les Statuts et le Règlement Intérieur

IV. Droit de Vote (Statuts)

  1. Les Associés n'ont pas le droit de vote.


    1. Pour les questions d'ordre scientifique, ou administratif, ou à la fois d'ordre administratif et scientifique, mais sans incidence financière, le vote se fait au Conseil, par Pays membre, chaque Délégué au Conseil ayant une voix, à condition que l'Organisme adhérent ait payé ses cotisations jusqu'à la fin de l'année civile qui précède le vote.


    2. Pour les questions financières, le vote se fait au Conseil par Pays membre, à condition que le pays votant ait payé ses cotisations jusqu'à la fin de l'année calendaire qui précède le vote. Le nombre de voix attribuées à chaque Pays membre est égal au numéro de la catégorie à laquelle ce pays appartient.


  2. Pour l'admission de nouveaux Pays membres et les appels relatifs à un refus de transfert au statut d’Associé, les décisions sont prises au Conseil à la majorité absolue des deux tiers des Délégués au Conseil, chaque Délégué au Conseil disposant d’une voix.


  3. Un Délégué au Conseil ne peut représenter qu’un seul Pays membre. Aucun membre du Bureau ne peut être Délégué au Conseil d’un Pays membre. Aucun membre du Comité exécutif ne peut participer aux votes du Conseil, sauf en cas de circonstances exceptionnelles où il serait également le Délégué au Conseil d'un Pays membre.
    Un Pays membre à titre payant non représenté à une réunion du Conseil peut voter par correspondance sur toute question particulière, précisée dans l'ordre du jour définitif distribué à l'avance aux Pays membres, pourvu que les débats sur cette question n'aient pas fait apparaître de nouveaux éléments, ni modifié la substance, et que le vote en question soit parvenu au Président avant l'ouverture du scrutin.
    Pour la validité des délibérations au Conseil, au moins un tiers des Pays membres ayant le droit de vote sont représentés par leurs Délégués au Conseil.


  4. Avant un vote lors d'une réunion du Conseil, il revient au Président de décider si la question débattue est d'ordre scientifique, administratif ou financier, et si la procédure du vote par correspondance s'applique.


  5. Les décisions du Conseil sont prises à la majorité absolue simple sauf dans les cas spécialement mentionnés dans les présents statuts.
    Si, au cours d'un vote au Conseil il y a égalité de voix, la décision appartient au Président.
    La majorité absolue simple ou des deux tiers est déterminée par la proportion des votes affirmatifs par rapport au total des votes (affirmatifs, négatifs et abstentions) pourvu que le nombre total de délégués votants (affirmatif, négatif, abstention) ne soit pas inférieur à un tiers des Pays membres de l'Union ayant droit de vote. Les votes blancs et nuls et les votes non exprimés par les délégués présents sont comptés comme des abstentions.

Si vous souhaitez plus d'informations, veuillez nous contacter à secretariat@iugg.org.

Union Statutes

IV. Voting

  1. Voting in Council is held (a) at meetings of the Council or (b) electronically. Electronic voting is voting using electronic systems (e.g., Internet, E-mail, Fax) and organized by the IUGG Secretariat. Electronic votes shall be open for one calendar month from the date of announcement. Electronic voting shall normally be suspended in the 6 months preceding a meeting of Council.
    Associates have no voting rights.

    1. On questions of scientific nature, or of administrative nature, or of a character partly administrative and partly scientific not involving matters of finance, voting shall be in Council by Member Countries, each Council Delegate having one vote, provided that the subscription of the Adhering Body has been paid up to the end of the calendar year preceding the voting.

    2. On questions involving finance, voting shall be in Council by Member Countries with the provision that a voting country must have paid its subscriptions up to the end of the calendar year preceding voting in Council. The number of votes allotted to each Member Country shall be equal to the number of its category of membership.

  2. Questions on admission of new Member Countries and new Affiliate Members and appeals against denial of transfer to Associate membership shall be decided by a two-thirds absolute majority vote of the Council Delegates meeting in Council or voting electronically, each Council Delegate having one vote.

  3. A Council Delegate may represent only one Member Country. No member of the Bureau shall serve as a Council Delegate of a country. No Member of the Executive Committee shall vote with the Council unless under exceptional circumstances they are also the Council Delegate of a Member Country.

    A paying Member Country which is not represented at a Council meeting may vote by correspondence on any specific question provided that the matter has been clearly defined on the final agenda distributed in advance to the Member Countries and that the discussion thereon has not produced any new considerations or changed its substance and provided that said vote has been received in writing by the President prior to the voting.

    For the validity of the deliberations of the Council, at least one third of the Member Countries eligible to vote must be represented by their Council Delegates.

  4. Before a vote in a Council meeting or an electronic vote, the President shall decide whether the matter under consideration is scientific, administrative or financial in character and whether the procedure of voting by correspondence applies.

  5. Decisions of the Council shall be taken by a simple absolute majority except as otherwise specified in the present Statutes.

    If a tie should occur in a Council vote, the decision shall rest with the President.

    Simple or two-third absolute majorities are determined by the proportion of affirmative votes to the sum of votes (affirmative, negative, abstention), provided that the total number of delegates voting (affirmative, negative, abstention) is not less than one third of the total membership of the Union eligible to vote. Blank or invalid ballots and votes not cast by Delegates present at a Council meeting or by electronic voting are counted as abstentions.

For more information, direct questions to secretariat@iugg.org.