Union By-Laws

I. Composition

  1. The following are the constituent Associations of the Union:

    The International Association of Cryospheric Sciences (IACS),
    The International Association of Geodesy (IAG),
    The International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy (IAGA),
    The International Association of Hydrological Sciences (IAHS),
    The International Association of Meteorology and Atmospheric Sciences (IAMAS),
    The International Association for the Physical Sciences of the Oceans (IAPSO),
    The International Association of Seismology and Physics of the Earth's Interior (IASPEI),
    The International Association of Volcanology and Chemistry of the Earth's Interior (IAVCEI).

  2. The IUGG Executive Committee may establish Union Commissions in order to examine scientific issues of mutual interest to at least four Associations. The Union may also, through the Executive Committee, sponsor jointly with other Unions or for special purposes, specific Programmes or Committees for the conduct of inter-disciplinary science. Such bodies may create subordinate bodies as necessary. In the same way, the Union may sponsor Permanent Services. The list of Union Commissions, Programmes, Committees, and Permanent Services shall be reviewed by the Executive Committee at each General Assembly.

    Scientists from all countries may attend scientific meetings of the Union and of the Associations. They may also act as observers in Commissions of the Union and in the Associations.

  3. The President will normally represent the Union at the General Assemblies of the International Council for Science but may be represented, if necessary, by the Vice-President or Secretary General.

  4. Each Adhering Body shall form a Committee for Geodesy and Geophysics hereafter known as an IUGG National Committee, which normally consists of a President, Secretary General, and National Correspondents to Union Associations. The function of the National Committee is, under the direction of the Adhering Body, to provide for the participation of the Member Country in the Union’s activities.

    During the interval between General Assemblies, the Bureau of the Union may directly consult by correspondence the National Committee of each Member Country on any question of scientific character or on administrative matters not involving finance. On matters of finance and on admission of new Member Countries, the Bureau of the Union shall communicate with the Adhering Bodies of paying Members.

For more information, direct questions to secretariat@iugg.org.