Main menu


Next IUGG General Assembly Montreal, Canada
(July 8-19, 2019)

1202 days left

Flag Counter

IAGA Awards


IAGA Awards will be presented during the IAGA Dinner on Sunday, June 28, 8 p.m..


Shen Kuo Award     |     IAGA Long Service Award     |     Young Scientist Award


Shen Kuo Award for interdisciplinary achievements

For more information about the award please click here.

Dan Baker
Boulder, CA, USA

Daniel Baker is Director of the Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics at the University of Colorado-Boulder and is Distinguished Professor of Planetary and Space Physics, Professor of Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences, and Professor of Physics there. His primary research interest is the study of plasma physical and energetic particle phenomena in planetary magnetospheres and in the Earth's vicinity. He conducts research in space instrument design, space physics data analysis, and magnetospheric modeling. Dr. Baker is a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union (AGU), the International Academy of Astronautics (IAS), the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), and the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and the National Academy of Engineering, and has received numerous awards in recognition of his achievements. He has also chaired numerous important panels dealing with various facets of solar-terrestrial physics and space weather. He has served as U.S. delegate to IAGA, as a member of the IAGA Executive Committee, and Chaired the IGY+50 Task Force for IAGA. Dr. Baker's lifetime research has focused on the physics of energetic particles in the narrowest sense, and on solar-planetary coupling from the broadest perspective. Most of his research has involved the interpretation of satellite-based electric field, magnetic field, and particle data, often involving multiple satellites providing linkages between the Sun and the plasma particle population of interest.

go to top of the page

IAGA Long Service Award

For more information about the award please click here.

Hans-Joachim Linthe Potsdam, Germany
John Riddick Edinburgh, U.K.


go to top of the page

Young Scientist Award

For more information about the award please click here.

Erin Dawkins Leeds, U.K.
Maria Mendakiewicz Zabrze, Poland
Israel Silber
Tel Aviv, Israel
Rémi Thiéblemont
Kiel, Germany


go to top of the page





print page
IUGG 2015 Prague Secretariat: C-IN, 5. kvetna 65, 140 21 Prague 4, CZE | tel.: +420 261 174 301 | fax: +420 261 174 307
Copyright © 2013 | Powered and created by E-WORKS - web studio | XHTML 1.0 | CSS 2