Liaisons and Representatives

The work of IUGG is related to that of many other scientific organizations. Some of these are inter-governmental such as those affiliated with the United Nations; some are Interdisciplinary Bodies of ISC, and others are organizations of particular interest to specific Associations. From time to time, it has been deemed beneficial for IUGG to name liaisons to specific organizations in order to promote communication and co-operation. Liaisons are recommended by the Executive Committee and are appointed by the Council at each General Assembly; they serve until the subsequent General Assembly when they must provide a report of their relevant activities. The IUGG budget includes limited funds that the liaisons may access, if needed, to carry out their duties.

An IUGG liaison is encouraged to:
  • Attend business meetings (General Assemblies, Executive Committee meetings, etc.) of the organization where (s)he represents the Union.
  • Make contact with officers of the organization and with the members (national and Union) of the organization trying to promote IUGG activities related to the organization.
  • Intervene in any discussion related to geophysics and geodesy (e.g., at the business meetings, teleconferences, e-mail correspondence) pointing out expertise of the Union in a particular problem.
  • Undertake joint activities with the organization (e.g., scientific meeting which could be co-sponsored by IUGG and its Associations; joint statements and resolution; etc.).
  • Nominate IUGG scientists for positions of the organizationís officers in consultation with the President and Secretary General of IUGG.
  • Nominate IUGG scientists for awards and medals of the organization in consultation with the President and Secretary General of IUGG.
  • Prepare a report (2 pages) with a short summary (max. 1/2 page) on the business meeting(s) attended, emphasizing current activities of the organization especially related to geodesy and geophysics.
  • Prepare a quadrennial report on the activity as the IUGG Liaison and to submit the report 6 months prior to IUGG General Assemblies.
IUGG liaisons are encouraged to seek external funding to attend meetings of the organization. If such funding is not forthcoming, then IUGG may cover travel expenses of IUGG Liaisons to one or two business meetings of the organization per quadrennium, depending on the importance of the meeting for IUGG. Prior approval for such travel expenses should be sought from the IUGG President or Secretary General, and Treasurer.

Scientific Partner Organizations of IUGG (with liaison officers) Scientific Partner Organizations of IUGG (with liaison officers)

IUGG Liaison Officers (2015-2019) to International and Intergovernmental Organizations (Principal Liaisons are marked by bold)

Organization Liaison(s) (country)
ISC Committee on Data for Science and Technology (CODATA) Alexei Gvishiani (RUSSIA)
Bernd Richter (GERMANY)
ISC Committee on Space Research (COSPAR) Andrew W. Yau (CANADA)
Geoffrey Blewitt (USA)
ISC Regional Office for Africa (ROA) Isabelle Ansorge (SOUTH AFRICA)
ISC Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific (ROAP) Sukanta Roy (INDIA)
ISC Regional Office for Latin American and the Caribbean (ROLAC) Jaime U. Fucugauchi (MEXICO)
ISC Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) Ian Allison (AUSTRALIA)
John Turner (UK)
ISC Scientific Committee on Oceanic Research (SCOR) Denise Smythe-Wright (UK)
John Turner (UK)
ISC Scientific Committee on Solar-Terrestrial Physics (SCOSTEP) Vladimir Kuznetsov (RUSSIA)
ISC World Data System (WDS) Aude Chambodut (FRANCE)
Ruth E. Neilan (USA)
The United Nations Geospatial Information Section Hermann Drewes (GERMANY)
UNESCO International Hydrological Program (IHP) Christophe Cudennec (FRANCE)
Georg Kaser (AUSTRIA)
UNESCO Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) Stefania Sparnocchia (ITALY)
Eugene Morozov (RUSSIA)
International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) John Eichelberger (USA)
Arnau Folch (FRANCE)
ISC-UNISDR Scientific Committee on Integrated Research on Disaster Risk (IRDR) Harsh Gupta (INDIA)
World Climate Research Program (WCRP) Tom Beer (AUSTRALIA)
Richard Essery (UK)
Consultative Committee for Time and Frequency (CCTF) Richard Biancale (FRANCE)
Claude Boucher (FRANCE)
Pan American Institute of Geography and History (PAIGH) Laura Sanchez (GERMANY)
World Meteorological Organization (WMO) Arthur Askew (SWITZERLAND)
Xiao Cunde (CHINA)
Alan Thomson (UK)
Christophe Cudennec (FRANCE)
Joyce E. Penner (USA)
Arnau Folch (SPAIN)
Partner Advisory Committee (PAC) of the Global Framework for Climate Services (GFCS) Roger Pulwarty (USA)
Group on Earth Observations (GEO) Alik Ismail-Zadeh (GERMANY/RUSSIA)
Claude Boucher (FRANCE)
Mioara Mandea (FRANCE)
Peter Fox (USA)
Richard Gross (USA)
Göran Ekström (USA)